The Network Standards - Types of Network Standards

The standards are the precise documents. These documents contain technical and physical specifications about the network being designed. By following the network standards, the networks can be reliable and efficient.

Types of Network Standards
There are two types of network standards.
  1. De Facto standards
  2. De Jure standards
1- De Facto Standards
    De Facto mean "by tradition" or "by facts". These standards were developed without any formula planning. These standards came into existence due to historical developments. These standards are most commonly used by the organizations all over the world. SNA (System Network Architecture) is example of DE Facto standards.

2- De Jure Standards
    De Jure means "according to law or regulation". These standards have been properly designed according to the needs of data communication. These standards are approved by international organizations.

The following organizations approve network standards (and other standards):
  • American National Standard Institute (ANSI)
  • The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
  • The International Standard Organization (ISO)
  • The International Telecommunications Union-Telecommunication Standards Sector (ITU-T, formally CCITT)
  • The Electronic Industries Association (EIA)
  • Telcordia

2 Responses to “The Network Standards - Types of Network Standards”

zaroob hussain said...
23 September 2014 at 03:44

so thanks

Nidhi Sharma said...
10 December 2015 at 04:16

Awesome article.....!!
I have gradually become fan of your article and would like to suggest putting some new updates to make it more effective.....!!

Network troubleshooting India

Post a Comment