Encoding of Data - Describe Important Coding Schemes

A computer accepts and processes data in binary form. Therefore, all data, numeric or non-numeric, must be converted into binary form before storing inside the computer. The process of converting data into binary form is called encoding of data.

Important Coding Schemes
Some important coding schemes to represented data are as follows:
  1. BCD Code
  2. EBCDIC Code
  3. ASCII Code
  4. Unicode Code
1- BCD Code
    BCD stands for Binary Coded Decimal. It is 4-bits code. It means that each digit of a decimal digit is represented by 4-bits. This coding schemes was used in early computers. It was used only to represent and process the numeric data.

2- EBCDIC Code
    EBCDIC stands for Extended Binary Coded Decimal Interchange Code. It is an 8-bit code. In this coding system, 256 different characters can be represented inside the computer. It is used by IBM (International Business Machine) mainframe computer.

3- ASCII Code
    ASCII stands for American Standard Code for Information Interchange. It was developed by American National Standards Institute (ANSI). It is a standard code to represent alphanumeric data. The first ASCII code was 7-bit code. Then ASCII 7-bit code system was extended to 8-bit code. The 7-bit code system can represent 128 characters. The 8-bit code system can represent 256 characters. Today, ASCII 8-bit code system is used in most of the computers.

4- Unicode Code
    Unicode stands for Universal code. It is a 16-bit code. It can represent 65536 characters or symbols. It is developed by following the ASCII coding scheme. The first 256 codes in Unicode are identical to the 256 codes used by ASCII system.

1 Responses to “Encoding of Data - Describe Important Coding Schemes”

Nidhi Sharma said...
10 December 2015 at 03:38

I am truly thankful to the blog administrator who has shared this great post at this place. Really a great information to read....!!

Total Networking Solutions in India

Post a Comment